Coppertone CLEARLYSheer

Coppertone CLEARLYSheer

Hey, all! It’s been quite some time since I last posted because well, I’ve had a really rough past…year. Now that summer has come about, I’m able to go to the beach during any down-time to try to ease the past stresses and future stresses (kitchen renovation, need a full-time job, travelling with my mother, losing my health insurance!). Full disclaimer: I am pale as hell and will burn if I so much as look at a light bulb funny. Naturally, protection is fairly necessary for me and when BzzAgent caught onto that through their many personal surveys, they sent me a complimentary box of Coppertone ClearlySheer sprays and lotions to test out and review. The line is fairly new to their brand and it claims to have a minimal feel on the skin, perhaps as a response to people complaining about how greasy regular lotion is. I’ve had experience with both creams and sprays, the latter being my preferred method of application for the past few years.

Coppertone CLEARLYSheer

I was diagnosed with Rosacea recently and am on a prescription sunscreen for the face, so I did all the testing on my body. For those who don’t have dermatologist-driven face-care routines, Coppertone also has a CLEARLYSheer face lotion. It won’t clog pores and I’ve heard it layers well under makeup. Nothing discourages wearing sunscreen every day like a sunscreen that doesn’t work with your everyday look, you know?

My first experience with the spray was at the Jones Beach Airshow and I turned out quite burned, but I chalked it up to bad timing with the application. The second experience was with the cream for sunny days. I rubbed it into my legs before walking around a park for a few hours and I did not burn at all, which was great. It has a light lemony smell and absorbed well into my legs. I forgot I was wearing sunscreen! Also, a little goes a long way with this stuff. The next two experiences I had with the spray were pretty awful. During the first, I had some respiratory problems that lasted for about a half hour after applying. During the second experience, I outsmarted that problem by spraying one body part then running away to the opposite corner of the room to breathe until the remaining mist hit the floor. Spraying and running. Spraying and running. I was at the beach for a bit under two hours. A few hours after I got home, I noticed some redness on my abs. An hour or two after that, as I went into work, people were remarking on how burnt I was. I had sprayed two to three layers on these areas!

Coppertone CLEARLYSheer

Overall, I would recommend the cream formulas but would stay away from the spray if you are looking for serious coverage. The smell is nice and unisex (though nothing beats the original Coppertone scent) and it rubs in completely without leaving a sticky feel.

Leave a Reply

