Library Book Sale Haul

Library Book Sale Haul

I have a low budget in comparison to my want list. Twice a year, my local library holds a used book sale and I am able to get a lot of book shopping done at once, for very low prices. This year, I not only shopped for myself but for my swimming students as well. Some teachers give out candy canes and chocolate but I rather their mind grow than their waistband. Before you get all, “wahwahwahhhh she’s calling kids fat!”, there is a childhood diabetes epidemic in the United States. Anyway, I suppose it is a little strange to give used books as gifts but I don’t have the budget to buy new ones. Recycled knowledge should not be seen as a negative thing.

For the children: A Treasury of Bunny Stories by Beatrix Potter (for baby Sophia), Baby Animal Stories by Publications International (for Grace, who reminds me of my old best friend at a young age), The Divide by Elizabeth Kay (for Andrew, who is stronger than he thinks), Illustrated Book of Questions & Answers by Publications International (for scientifically-minded Carlos), and a few dozen more.

For me: The Nasty Bits by Anthony Bourdain, Delicious on a Dime Cookbook by the editors of All You, Georgiana: Duchess of Devonshire by Amanda Foreman, Age of Enlightenment (Great Ages of Man) by Peter Gay, The Renaissance Cookbook: Historical Perspectives through Cookery by Berengario delle Cinqueterre, Love and Louis XIV: The Women in the Life of the Sun King by Antonia Fraser, History of Costume (World of Culture) by Rachel H. Kemper, The Cities Book: A Journey through the Best Cities in the World by Lonely Planet, Medieval Pageant by Bryan Holme, The Genius of Venice, 1500-1600 by Jane and Charles Hope, The Glory of Venice: Art in the Eighteenth Century by Jane Martineau and Andrew Robison, A Grand Design: The Art of the Victoria and Albert Museum by Brenda Richardson and The V&A.

For my boss: Suck on This Year: LYFAO @ 140 Characters or Less by Denis Leary

All of these books were purchased for a total of 35 dollars. Win. A full bookcase is a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

