Sometimes on Target…

Sometimes on Target…

I went to Target tonight, as I am feeling a bit sick (glands swollen, ears hurt), for a small pick me up in the form of a new lipstick. By new, I mean age-old. I tend to like things that have a history to them…Habanita de Molinard, tarnished silver-plated anything, hardcover science books with yellowing pages and cracked leather…and the recently relaunched Revlon 1952’s “Fire & Ice” Super Lustrous Lipstick. It will look very nice on my silver serving tray that is currently housing some of my cosmetics. I picked up a tube and I could have stopped there, but I didn’t. I may as well check the small clearance section, right? I picked up a got2b Guardian Angel Gloss Finish Flat Iron Balm for $3.08 because I haven’t owned a protectant spray since college and now that I work in a professional environment, I do find myself using my straightener more often. Now, I’m not saying I do my whole head; I am a firm believer in standing behind my natural curls. I tend to only straighten to right above my ears. Across the aisle was of course the misses section. Don’t judge me. Ha!

Right away, my eyes were drawn to a rack with several fit-and-flare dresses. You can’t see it from the picture but there is a cutout right above the chest and surprise!, it didn’t expose my bra straps. Also, the real silhouette is much more shapely. These are dresses I love because, at 5′ with my waist being the smallest part of me and my bust only tolerating seamed-at-the-natural-waist waistlines, they usually work for me. They aren’t clearanced on the website but they were $17ish at the store. I picked some out in a few sizes (SM, MD) and went onto another rack where I picked up something I figured wouldn’t work. A high neck peter pan collar dress? Meh, I don’t know about this… Both wound up fitting really well. My 30H bust usually either doesn’t fit the top part of the dress or the armholes of the dress wind up showing like 1/4th of my bra. A small amount of the bra did show through the armholes but not nearly as much as what usually happens. Also, it would be an even less amount with a bra that is maybe a bit more narrow; I was wearing the Parfait by Affinitas Charlotte. High neck anything is often unflattering on large busts but the fact that the upper section was unlined lace with the lining neckline being sweetheart, it gave the illusion that it wasn’t a high neckline and made the bust look not so low.

At last, I pulled away from the clearance rack and headed over to check out, but not before spotting some real beauties that I will be stalking until the price drops. I did not have a chance to try on the top dress, as they only had my size in the navy color, which had horses on it. I hate horses. What?! They’re tall, scary, stinky, and smart enough to kick people they don’t like. What’s not to hate? The second dress I tried on in a small and while the waist fit, the bust was a stretch and the pulling made the pintucking detail not lay as it should. I believe a medium would solve this. So alas, I stalk. Screen shot 2013-10-20 at 1.21.52 AM

Leave a Reply

