Long Island Philharmonic at Heckscher State Park

Long Island Philharmonic at Heckscher State Park

Every year the Islip Arts Council puts together a free concert at Heckscher State Park, where music from the Long Island Philharmonic fills the air. This year was a salute to the armed forces and to celebrate our soldiers finally coming home. All of the songs were of the patriotic genre. Some of my favorites were Sing, Sing, Sing and Straighten Up and Fly Right. What can I say? I’m a sucker for the swing. Unfortunately, I didn’t really get any good shots because the music played at night and there were people’s heads in the way.

If you’re feeling a bit patriotic or whatnot, the playlist was as follows: The Star Spangled Banner, Satchmo!, The Liberty Bell, Music from The Patriot, Bugler’s Dream, Mars, the Bringer of War, Hymn of Victory, Sing, Sing, Sing, Armed Forces Salute, Straighten Up and Fly Right, American Salute, Tara’s Theme from Gone with the Wind, Battle Hymn of the Republic, A Prayer for Peace from Munichs, Bugler’s Holiday, Hail to the Spirit of Liberty, Irving Berlin: A Symphonic Portrait, and The Stars & Stripes Forever.

There was also an air show with old military aircraft. This was unexpected to me so it was a nice surprise. During World War I, Long Island was a mecca for military aircraft producers. Most of my family members worked for Grumman (a huge producer) at some point in their life, the last being my own father. Grumman planes actually shot down the most Japanese planes in that war.The fireworks show by Grucci held at the end was spectacular from what I saw as I was running away, because ladies and gentlemen, I am afraid of fireworks. It’s the noise, really. I did bring cotton balls for my ears and once I was safely in the car, they were so beautiful. I was using my dad’s old Kodak EasyShare for the pictures and since I didn’t know my way around the camera, the shots of said fireworks turned out a bit wonky but I think it makes them look like deep-sea jellyfish.

Anyway, the night was nice and many people attended. So on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

